Warm Butternut Squash and Garbanzo Salad

Guys.  This is my new favorite food.  It’s one of the best things I’ve eaten in a long time, and that’s saying something, since I just went to Paris and ate my way through the city.  Ok, so maybe it’s not BETTER than the food I ate in Paris, but it’s very different, and it’s definitely delicious.  I’ve made it twice now, and even though I just finished the last of it yesterday, I already can’t wait to make it again.  Unfortunately, the second time I made it (which is when I remembered to take pictures), I didn’t have any parsley, so it’s not the most beautiful thing I’ve ever made, but…just deal.  I’m telling you, it’s amazing.

I found the recipe on Smitten Kitchen, one of the most famous food blogs around.  I avoided this blog for a while in an attempt not to just follow the crowd, but you know what?  Sometimes, the crowd knows what it’s doing.  Smitten Kitchen is pretty great.  I’ve been converted.

Anyway.  This salad is pretty easy.  Preheat your oven to 400F (which I’ve learned is just over 200C).  Peel a butternut squash and divide it into pieces, one or two pieces from the narrow neck, and one of the bottom part with the seeds.  Scrape the seeds out, and then cut the squash into cubes of about 3/4 of an inch.  You’ll want to do this with a sharp knife, on a cutting board that won’t move around on it’s own (i.e., not the one pictured here, which likes to go on adventures across the counter and is likely to be the death of me, or at least one of my fingers).

Once you have a whole pile of lovely little squash cubes, toss them with a couple of tablespoons of olive oil and some salt and pepper.  Roast them for about 35-40 minutes, stirring once or twice, until tender but not mushy.

When the squash is almost done, put together your dressing.  The four ingredients pictured here are all you need, plus a little water.  In case you can’t make them out, we’ve got some minced garlic, a lemon, olive oil, and tahini, clockwise from bottom right.  Stir together 3 T tahini, 2 T olive oil, 2 T lemon juice, and enough water to thin the dressing out (probably another 2 T).

Finely chop about 1/4 cup each of parsley and red onion, and rinse a can of garbanzo beans.  Toss all of these things with the squash, pour dressing over everything, and stir to combine.  Try not to eat it all at once.

2 thoughts on “Warm Butternut Squash and Garbanzo Salad

Leave a Reply

